LAWA Scholarships are now closed. Thank you for submitting your applications.  For 2018 Scholarships, please check back on January 1st 2018.

For additional scholarship opportunity information please visit Scholarship America

LAWA was founded on the principle of advancing education in our community. Since 1992 the LAWA Scholarship program has assisted Latino students attain their associate and bachelor degrees. LAWA is proud of our LAWA Scholars and encourages all Latino students residing in Mecklenburg, Concord/Cabarrus, Gaston, South Iredell/Mooresville Union counties in North Carolina to apply for LAWA Scholarships.

Scholarships are awarded once per year to students who demonstrate academic achievement, financial need, and community involvement. Only students meeting all the requirements are considered for awards.

Additional Scholarships within the LAWA Scholarship  

The Marand Scholarship                                                           

Fund for Latino students seeking a 2 or 4 year degrees in careers related to Engineering. Awards range from $2,500 to $5,000 per year. Applicants must meet additional qualifications.

Mis hijas Scholarship 

Fund for Latino students who do not qualify for FAFSA . Minimum award $2,000 per year. Applicants must meet additional qualifications.

Debora Aguiar-Velez Scholarship

Fund for female Latino students studying STEM careers. Minimum award $2,500 per year. Applicants must meet additional qualifications.



New Youth Scholarship -  for High school seniors who will graduate in 2017 from a school located in the following counties in the State of North Carolina: Mecklenburg, Concord/Cabarrus, Gaston, South Iredell/Mooresville and Union. 

Renewal Youth Scholarship -  for students who received a LAWA scholarship award the immediate previous year, and who will continue to attend an accredited college as a full time  student in the next consecutive academic year.

Women Scholarship - to Latin American Women who  reside in the State of North Carolina in the one of the following counties:  Mecklenburg, Concord/Cabarrus, Gaston, South Iredell/Mooresville and Union and,  who would like  to start or continue a career, take courses to earn a certificate or license, or  increase skills to compete for better paying jobs.


A Scholarship Committee appointed by LAWA meets in early spring to select the students who will be awarded the scholarships based on academic achievement, extra-curricular activities, financial need, and community involvement.


The Scholarship Awards Ceremony is scheduled in June of each year.  Scholarship recipients plus a limited number of family members, sponsors and community are invited.